Agenda Item
Meeting Date: 11/12/2020 - 4:00 PM
Category: Consent Calendar
Type: Action
Subject: Appoint SY 2020-2021 Middle School Representatives
ACPS 2025 Strategic Plan Goal:
Goal 5: Family and Community Engagement
ACPS will ensure that all families and community members feel welcomed, respected, and valued.
Policy: BBBB - Student Representatives to the School Board
Funding Source or Fiscal Impact (where applicable):
File Attachment:
Policy BBBB.pdf
Regulation BBBB-R2.pdf
Agenda Item Summary: Each year, the School Board appoints a Middle School Student Representative to Patrick Henry School, Jefferson-Houston K-8 School, Francis C. Hammond Middle School, and George Washington Middle School. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic and school shutdown during the 2019-2020 school year, student representative terms were cut short. Student representatives from Jefferson-Houston and Patrick Henry, with the endorsement of their principal, were offered the opportunity to continue their term through the 2020-21 school year.
George Washington Middle School and Francis C. Hammond Middle School principals reviewed applications and conducted interviews of students who applied for the 2020-21 Middle School Student Representative position for their respective schools, and ultimately students were selected to fill the positions. The following student have been selected:
• Giselle Hughes, Jefferson-Houston K-8 School
• Caleb Bonga, Patrick Henry School
• Sarah Murphy, Francis C. Hammond Middle School
• Scott Price II, George Washington Middle School
Background: In April 2019, the School Board revised Policy BBBB to create four non-voting Middle School Student Representative positions. The students will serve in an advisory capacity to the high school Student Representatives to the School Board, and do not participate in School Board Meetings. Regulation BBBB-R2, created in May 2019, outlines this program. The Middle School Student Representative positions are open to rising 7th and 8th grade students from each of the four middle schools and serve an annual term from July 1 through June 30th.
Recommendation: The Superintendent recommends that the School Board reappoint Giselle Hughes and Caleb Bonga, and appoint Sarah Murphy and Scott Price as Middle School Student Representatives for the 2020-2021 school year.
Recommended By:
Signed By:
Final-Clerk of the Board - Proxy